That Sinking Feeling: The Titanic Exhibit at the National Geographic Museum

The fascination is endless and haunting. Famed oceanographer Robert Ballard, who fittingly claimed the prize for discovering the Titanic’s watery grave in 1985, comments aptly that “every generation re-discovers the Titanic”. And we re-discovered it last weekend at the National Geographic Museum in Washington, D.C.

The considerable resources of Dr. Ballard and “Titanic” film director James Cameron combine to make this 100th anniversary exhibit a comprehensive and well-documented narrative of the tragic events of April 15, 1912. We all know the facts: White Star Line’s “unsinkable” RMS Titanic was lost along with 1,502 of the original 2,223 passengers in the icy waters of the North Atlantic off Newfoundland on her maiden voyage after colliding with an iceberg.

Photo of a calved iceberg presumed to be similar to the one that spelled doom for the Titanic.

Forensic mapping of the wreckage along with interpretation of the timeline and anecdotal accounts point to a fateful chain of errors: overconfidence and a reckless insistence on speed on the part of the ship’s captain, a possible steering error and a lag in posting incoming messages regarding treacherous ice may all have contributed to the disaster.

Photo of Titanic Captain Edward Smith

The unthinkable from the unsinkable: SOS “we have struck iceberg sinking fast…”

The exhibit features a few real artifacts – many fewer than one would have hoped – along with movie set re-creations from Cameron’s 1997 film. A treasure trove of items recovered from the wreckage can be seen at Chicago’s Museum of Science and Industry.

Real: this cherub light fixture was found among the wreckage (polloplayer photo)

Re-creation: a replica of the ship’s Marconi room, from which telegraph messages were sent and received (polloplayer photo)

The centerpiece of the exhibit is an impressively detailed 18-foot model of the ship.

Care to re-arrange deck chairs on the Titanic? (polloplayer photo)

The ship was originally supposed to have enough lifeboats for all passengers but half of them were removed to avoid a “cluttered” appearance. (polloplayer photo)

One of the highlights of the exhibit is a video of an exuberant Robert Ballard recounting his discovery of the Titanic. In it, he reveals that the search for the sunken ship was just cover for his real mission: his actual assignment was to locate sunken Navy submarines carrying nuclear missiles, a project the U.S. Navy wanted to keep on the down-low lest the Russians learn about it. Once Ballard and his team completed their Navy mission, they were under acute time pressure to find the Titanic, with just a few days left on the clock when they cry went up that their craft had passed over one of Titanic’s sunken boilers.

Dr. Robert Ballard (National Geographic photo)

Lucky for us the day was not all gloom and doom: we finally got to meet Christine!

Taylor and Christine

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in Sad, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to That Sinking Feeling: The Titanic Exhibit at the National Geographic Museum

  1. dizzyguy says:

    I am evidence that each generation discovers, and rediscovers this story. As a boy I read “A Night to Remember” and from there, read other books on Titanic. So when Cameron’s film came out I was an eager ticket buyer, and one who fully appreciated his (mostly) strict adherence to the true story (Yes, I know that Jack and Rose were made up). So many different layers to this tale; I am sure it will continue to fascinate people for a few more generations.

  2. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I in finding It really useful & it helped me out much. I am hoping to provide one thing again and help others such as you aided me.

  3. I was curious if you ever considered changing the structure of your blog?
    Its very well written; I love what youve got to say.
    But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect
    with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or
    two pictures. Maybe you could space it out better?

  4. I do not write a leave a response, but after reading a few of
    the responses on That Sinking Feeling: The Titanic Exhibit at the National Geographic Museum
    | Polloplayer. I do have some questions for you
    if it’s allright. Is it simply me or do a few of the remarks appear like they are written by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting on other sites, I would like to keep up with you. Could you list of all of all your public sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  5. A motivating discussion is definitely worth comment.

    I do think that you should write more about this topic, it might not be a taboo matter but generally people do not talk about such subjects.
    To the next! All the best!!

  6. Hola! I’ve been following your site for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Austin Texas! Just wanted to say keep up the excellent work!

  7. Hey there! I know this is kind of off topic but I was wondering which blog
    platform are you using for this site? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had issues with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  8. I have been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting
    article like yours. It is pretty worth enough for me.
    Personally, if all website owners and bloggers made
    good content as you did, the internet will be much more
    useful than ever before.

  9. Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok. I’m
    absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

  10. Graig says:

    Great info. Lucky me I ran across your website by chance (stumbleupon).

    I’ve bookmarked it for later!

  11. Gustavo says:

    Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly
    long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that
    over again. Regardless, just wanted to say great blog!

  12. Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to take a look.

    I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting
    this to my followers! Excellent blog and brilliant design and style.

  13. xoops.bz says:

    Hi, I read your new stuff on a regular basis. Your writing style is awesome, keep it up!

  14. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this
    post was great. I do not know who you are but certainly
    you’re going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already 😉 Cheers!

Leave a comment