What’s Your State of Mind?

We are most of the time in the state of California; part of the time in the state of New York. This means I live all of the time in the great State of Confusion.

As mentioned (read whined about) last week, I am not terribly nimble around time changes. So when that 757 departs 80-degree LAX in the early afternoon and deposits me at JFK in the depths of the night and 48-degree weather, the little eggbeater inside my head where most people have brains starts spinning like a gyroscope.

What happens when you try to live in two places. (image from tenthamendmentcenter.com)

What happens when you try to live in two places. (image from tenthamendmentcenter.com)

State of Confusion, indeed. And did I mention my dual citizenship in the State of Congestion? Start with a prerequisite minor cold, then get on an airplane for five or six hours and voila! You emerge, hacking, coughing and teeming with bacteria in every upper respiratory passage. I don’t think this is due to the re-circulated air or the pressurized cabin. I don’t even think it was due to the woman in the seat next to me spewing toxic little droplets my way every time she coughed (about once a minute throughout the flight; you do the math.) I truly believe – and this is my scientific opinion – that every time you fly, your soul gets sucked out through your sinuses and has to catch up with you in baggage claim. Let that be a lesson to those of you who refuse to check luggage and drag those 50-lb suitcases onto the plane and try to stuff them in an overhead bin, clogging the aisles and clocking fellow passengers upside the head. You know who you are, you soul-less creatures.

You don't believe me about the soul-sucking? Time for you to watch The Langoliers. (image from youtube.com)

You don’t believe me about the soul-sucking? Time for you to watch The Langoliers. (image from youtube.com)

Anyway, here we are in NYC, which is magnificent despite the colds and the not sleeping. The trees in Central Park are dressed in their best autumn golds and reds and those doughty Manhattanites are still dining al fresco at the cafes despite the chilling temps and the sky being pitch black by 4:45 pm.

Shooting through the window doesn't capture the color very well, but it is magnificent!

Shooting through the window doesn’t capture the color very well, but it is magnificent!

That’s my current state of mind. But what’s yours? I found this nifty little quiz that will let you discover where you really reside. It’s from Time Magazine so you know how real the science is behind it, but hey, it’s fun:

http://science.time.com/2013/10/22/the-united-states-of-attitude-an-interactive-guide-to-americas-moods/

The Mood Map (image from science.time.com)

The Mood Map (image from science.time.com)

I’ll warn you that your State of Mind can change from day to day: I was in New Hampshire the first time I took the test and ended up in Louisiana a few days later. Makes sense to me because where I really live in my State of Confusion, I’m all over the map anyway.

Happy Weekend!

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in Absurdity, Annoyances of Life, New York city, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What’s Your State of Mind?

  1. dizzyguy says:

    So let me see here….Last week we didn’t really know what time it is. This week we don’t really know where in the #$%^&!! we are. Yes, I think that sums it up quite nicely. Next step: Not really knowing where your teeth are, or when you put them there.

  2. tdevir says:

    According to Time Mag’s quiz, I belong in Georgia! I’ve never been there so I don’t know what that means really…. but I guess I have a little southern belle in me y’all!
    Hope you guys are enjoying NYC and the weather has allowed for some nice walks through the beautiful fall leaves in Central Park. xo

Leave a Reply

