Chicken, with a side of chicken…

The chicken gifts continue to roll in. Still a few unopened gifts (we have been dealing with another pet crisis) so I hesitate to say this is the last word on the subject. One never knows what lurks in a stocking. But I need a smile today and hopefully, so do you, so here are the latest additions to my chicken-themed inventory:

Hope is all over this apron!

Hope is all over this apron!

Tina, John and their girls visited for a few days and brought chicken goodwill along with them.  This chicken apron seems too nice to put to work in the coop, doesn’t it?

IMG_8886

I have a passion for chickens and for Christmas ornaments, so this one is a treasure. Tina said the store she was in had a tree trimmed entirely in chicken ornaments – good thing I wasn’t there or the CE would now have a 66th box of holiday decorations to put away. Yes, he counted, and claims there are sixty-five separate Christmas-esque boxes to store in the garage. This means I am in big, big trouble if I order those half-price Santas I was looking at online yesterday…

The handiest chicken in my flock!

The handiest chicken in my flock!

Pamela surprised me with this cute tape dispenser on New Year’s Eve. Apparently there is no deadline for chicken gifting, which is a scary thought. Could there be more chickens en route for MLK day or Presidents’ Weekend?

I caught Coco and Pippa trying to pose like the tape dispenser yesterday

I caught Coco and Pippa trying to pose like the tape dispenser yesterday

Technically, this last gift is a real turkey, so to speak, but since Tina asked about it, I’ll bend the rules and include it. When someone asks the CE what he got for Christmas 2012, this is the gift he will remember. Daniel, you really, really shouldn’t have, but we’re glad you did. The turkey hat is already firmly entrenched in family lore.

photo (214)

And this is a one-size-fits all kind of hat. Look who I found wearing it:

Viv and a turkey crown

Viv and a turkey crown

Hope your 2013 is off to a happy start!

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in Absurdity, All Things Poultry, Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Chicken, with a side of chicken…

  1. Katherine says:

    Scrolling down, I was reading aloud to Dan “the Gutsche’s have 65 Christmas-related boxes!” and he said “their house is probably decorated like the White House – every room done with perfect elegance. That’s Marilyn for ya – always elegant.” And then I continued to scroll as he spoke, and saw the CE in the turkey hat. Let’s just say the image of the elegant Gutsche household has taken a hit.

  2. pollo amigo says:

    I am wondering if there is National Chicken Day? There seems to be a day set aside on the calendar for almost everything else.

  3. Katherine says:

    Dear pollo amigo, Well – this might not be what you meant. But September is National Eat Chicken Month. (No surprise that September is also Happy Cat Month. I kid you not.)

  4. tdevir says:

    The turkey hat cracks me up!! Can’t wait to start gathering chicken gifts for next year….

  5. dizzyguy says:

    Chick chick, chick chick there, everywhere a chick chick……..

Leave a Reply

