A Very Chicken Christmas

It just occurred to me that you can pretty well read what people think of you by the gifts they choose. All this time I was going for sophisticated aesthete, but it turns out that nope, what comes to mind when loved ones shop for me is “she keeps chickens”. I guess it could be worse, right?

This year’s gifts have been most fowl and I mean that in the best way possible. Taylor and Daniel both headed straight for the chicken aisle in their shopping this year:

Chickens in the kitchen: Daniel found these towels and a wine stopper

Chickens in the kitchen: Daniel found these towels and a wine stopper

Taylor added this very fancy rooster to my flock

Taylor added this very fancy rooster to my flock

Dave and Karen went the whimsical route with this fluffy hen.

My new best friend

My new best friend

I can’t decide if she looks more like Luna…

Is she a Luna lookalike?

Is she a Luna lookalike?

Or Soho?

Or are these twins separated at birth?

Or are these twins separated at birth?

Where Cathy found this next item, I have no clue. Hard to tell by the photo, but when the weighted ball is set into motion, the chickens’ heads bob up and down to “peck” at the corn. So cute!

Poultry in motion: the chickens actually "peck" in unison

Poultry in motion: the chickens actually “peck” in unison

Katherine channeled chickens in a very big way! Inside this cute bag

No, you can't have it, it's mine!

No, you can’t have it, it’s mine!

I found this pillow that reminds us who rules the roost:

Words of wisdom

Words of wisdom

and then, this beautiful egg tray that she MADE! Can you believe it? I knew Katherine was taking a glass-fusing class, but who knew that chicken gifts could be elevated to the realm of art?

Beautiful and brilliant - just like the artist!

Beautiful and brilliant – just like the artist!

Pippa approves

Pippa approves

We haven’t finished opening gifts yet, so there might even be another  chicken or two still lurking under the tree.  Thanks to everyone for feathering my nest!

 

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in All Things Poultry, Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Very Chicken Christmas

  1. Katherine says:

    I can only speak for myself (but suspect others feel the same) – you absolutely have the “sophisticated aesthete” down pat. The problem is that I kept picking up gifts thinking “is it sophisticated enough? aesthete enough? I think not!” and then would stumble upon the aforementioned chicken-gear and think “sure – let’s bring that lovely lady down to our level of ridiculousness so we can pretend her sophistication is not intimidating the rest of us.” Done!

    (Meanwhile, I don’t know what you’re going to name that new fluffy hen but she’s hysterical. Perhaps she can be a hawk decoy in the yard.)

  2. pollo amigo says:

    The egg tray is amazing! I am trying to figure out if the fluffy hen looks more like Luna or Soho — or a cross between the two!
    Happy New Year to chickens everywhere!

  3. I also love that egg tray! And the saying on the pillow is hilarious. I had my husband lean over and take a look at it. 🙂

  4. Barb Maloney says:

    Got the same whimsical Matilda Hen for our daughter, Sarah, this Christmas. When she opened it, I brought up a picture of Luna on my tablet. Definitely brought a chuckle!

  5. tdevir says:

    love this post and glad to know that you are not sick of receiving chicken gifts yet 🙂 two quick comments: LOL at the separated at birth pic of soho & the stuffed chicken- and where is the CE chicken hat pic??

Leave a Reply

