Allie Brosh, phone home!

I love the fact that when a few blog-less days go by, people start checking in to ask what’s up. And I do apologize for not slipping in a mid-week post this past week. In general, you can assume one of two things when the blog goes quiet: either Hugh Laurie has whisked me off to the Maldives for a frolic, or I am down for the count with a rotated lumbar spine. And, alas, this week it has been the latter, although I never completely give up hope that Hugh will knock on the door one of these days.

I haven't checked Webster's, but I think the two-word definition for dreamboat is Hugh Laurie (image from house.wikia.com)

When my hypermobile spine and sacrum go “out”, which literally happens at the drop of a hat if I’m so bold as to actually bend to pick one up, a cascade of bad things happens. There is the obvious biomechanical dysfunction and then the swiftly attendant muscle spasm as the nearby muscle groups rush to manage the situation.

Then there is the Central Nervous System screaming “Mayday!” “Mayday!” and sending torrents of not-so-helpful pain signals to (what’s left of) my brain. After twenty-some years of this torment, it’s not as if I really need all those reminders that something is wrong, but the CNS and its sidekick, the Parasympathetic Nervous System, have, so to speak, a mind of their own. Their long and tortuous road leads directly to the limbic system of the brain, where you get an interesting two-for-one. Since both emotions and pain are processed here, when you experience pain you’ll find your mood worsens and conversely, if your mood dips, you may experience physical symptoms. This is why for some people (unfortunately I am not one of them) taking antidepressants can actually alleviate pain.

The hippocampus and amygdala are part of the brain's limbic system which processes both pain and emotion.

Which brings us to Allie Brosh.

A few years back when I was in similarly dire straits, Polloplayer friend Katherine came across Allie’s brilliant blog, Hyperbole and a Half and forwarded me Allie’s mad funny take on the traditional 1-10 pain scale. If laughter were truly the best medicine I would have been instantly cured by her post and I promptly requested and received her permission to re-post it. And then I became one of the thousands of readers who faithfully followed Allie’s blog updates about things like her “simple dog and “helper” dog. In the world of blogging, she would be, say, Tolstoy, while I labor away like a kid writing for the school newspaper. Allie Brosh is crazy talented. There was even an announcement that she’d landed a book deal.

And then she just seemed to disappear.

Her last blog update was back in the fall of 2011 and if her book has been published, I didn’t get the memo. Hope (@hopecutechick) even follows her on Twitter but so far, no updates from @alliebrosh.  I did find this interview with her on YouTube, but it’s from way back in 2010.

So here’s the deal, Allie, wherever you are. I’m crazy miserable and in desperate need of a blast of your brilliance to counter all the yuckiness currently lodged in my hippocampus. And I know I am not the only fan who wants you to phone home to cyberspace with some witty splash of cleverness to remind us that the Patron Saintess of the blogging world still reigns supreme. You’re way too young to be interested in Hugh Laurie, so I know you haven’t stolen my place by his side in the Maldives.  Wherever you are and whatever you’re doing, I wish you and your dogs all the best.

image of Hyperbole and a Half header from blog.comiccritique.com)

UPDATE: As usual, Katherine is in the know and she directs us to this discussion on Reddit. Much of it is conjecture and hearsay but Allie’s own posts in the early part of the discussion provide some insight.

Allie, you are in our prayers.

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in Animal/Vegetable/Mineral, Pain and Misery, Sad and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Allie Brosh, phone home!

  1. pollo amigo says:

    Hope you are feeling much better — especially with the Tardy Party on the horizon.

  2. Katherine says:

    FYI – you aren’t the only one wondering, and I’ve got good news and bad news…. she’s still with us but she has been very depressed. Sad.
    http://www.reddit.com/r/AskReddit/comments/qov3p/does_anybody_know_what_is_happening_with_allie/

    • polloplayer says:

      Awww very sorry to see this. I had noticed that her most recent blog post was about depression but was hoping it was not autobiographical. I wish we could make her smile. Maybe a steady diet of Stephen Fry and Hugh Laurie?

  3. Katherine says:

    I love Hugh as well. Have you seen this?

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YF9h2v3D7mc

    Because you may or may not feel differently now… and I’ll take your place on the flight to Maldives if you don’t think he jives with your Polloplayer essence.

  4. tdevir says:

    Ang introduced me to Hyperbole & a Half a while back- didn’t realize it was so well known! Hope Allie is OK.
    Sorry you are not feeling great. Xo

  5. jmmAZ says:

    allie brosh posted on her FB page on August 6, 2012. apparently she’s OK and working on a new post for her blog. https://www.facebook.com/ickybana5

Leave a Reply

