Let’s hear the love for Lucy!

I take back all the mean things I’ve said about Lucy.

When you think about how close the chicken coop is to a boiling pot on the stove, it’s almost a Christmas miracle that Lucy hasn’t ended up in a casserole. But Lucy’s story, luckily, is one of redemption.

Goosey Lucy

I’m a sucker for the underdog or, in this case, the under-chicken. And when I noticed that Lucy was isolated from the rest of the flock during the nightly who-rules-the-roost-in-the-coop pecking order competition, my irritation with her began to soften. Several nights in a row I found Lucy marooned on the nesting box counter while the rest of the flock preened over on the roosts. At first I thought it was just another dumb-Lucy antic, but when I put her back with the rest of the ladies, I saw that they immediately reached over to peck at her.

Lots of speckles, but no friends.

So I conducted a brief experiment in social engineering. Every time another hen would reach over to peck at Lucy, I gave that hen a smart little smack upside the head. Three or four of those seemed to do the trick, and after a few evenings of hen relationship intervention (as I’ve said before, other people have lives, I have chickens…) things have seemed to settle down and Lucy has found a spot on the roost.

Mean girl! Tulip is turning out to be the most aggressive chick in the flock.

Lucy seems a bit less skittish, too. I’d like to think she appreciates my hen-smacking efforts on her behalf, but the more likely answer is maturity. (On her part, not mine, since we all know that just because I’m getting old does not mean I will ever grow up, right?) Yesterday, Lucy proved to the world that she is all grown up: while I was cleaning the coop, she hopped up on the nest and laid her first egg!

Those golf balls have been a great "x-marks-the-spot" guide to show the girls where to lay.

Lucy’s egg is creamy beige and very similar to those that Hope lays. It will be hard to tell them apart.

I can now add "chicken egg photo stylist" to my resume.

She is right at the 27-week mark in age – just past six months – which is probably around the average time for point of lay. Tulip and Coco were just five months when they began laying; no sign of eggs yet from Luna or Pippa. According to Wikipedia, we can expect approximately 240 to 260 eggs a year from Lucy. That’s a lot of breakfasts!

Frenemies

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in All Things Poultry, Chicken Facts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let’s hear the love for Lucy!

  1. Katherine says:

    Bravo to you for nipping the Mean Girl activity in the (Tulip) bud! I dare say that Lucy rewarded your assistance with an egg.

    You know the Dutch have never looked kindly on the Southern Brits. Sometimes you have to send the troops in to maintain order.

  2. Nothing can’t be fixed with a smack upside the head. 🙂

Leave a Reply

