Matzoh and Moussaka: a recipe for love

On the first day of my first job out of college, a co-worker approached me and said matter-of-factly, “You’re the only person here close to my age. Let’s go to lunch.” We did, and quickly became fast friends. You’d be surprised how much a small-town Midwestern girl and a Jewish Hofstra grad could actually have in common.

Rosanne and me

Rosanne was with me when I met the CE, and I introduced her to her future husband, Keevan. I went to her wedding in Chicago and she came to mine in California. She had children. I had children. And so we headed back to Chicago for another wedding this month: that of Rosanne’s and Keevan’s daughter, Jaina,and her long-time love, Costa.

Costa and Jaina

Since the bride’s family is Jewish and the groom’s family is Greek, the festivities were steeped in both traditions. The rehearsal dinner was held – where else – at a restaurant in Chicago’s Greektown, and after dinner tables were pushed aside for dancing. At the wedding ceremony, Greek crowns were held over the pair’s heads as they stood beneath the traditional Jewish wedding canopy. There was so much love in that room!

It's Greek to me, but they look like they know what they're doing.

The CE and Keevan

The bride's cousin, reminding us what it's all about.

Turns out there aren’t that many people you can really count on in this world, but Keevan and Rosanne are at the top of the list. I still owe Keevan for the pair of boots he bought me when in 1977 I showed up  in Chicago weeping, poverty-stricken and underclothed during a February blizzard. He picked me up at the train station, took me shopping, fed me, and then put up with my sniveling (as did my patient, long-suffering college roommate, Anne) for the next few months until the CE mercifully took me off their hands. THAT is friendship!

Keevan and two of his three gorgeous girls. Two more weddings to look forward to!

Rosanne is a gifted writer and one of the only people who can craft a holiday letter each year that everyone actually looks forward to receiving. She possesses an unwavering combination of kindness and brutal honesty wrapped up in a killer sense of humor, and you will actually enjoy it when she makes fun of you. In fact, I owe my marriage to her gift of gab. When we ducked into a Georgetown pub one night to escape a cloudburst on our way home from dinner, it was Rosanne who noticed the tall, handsome guy  standing next to her who had also taken refuge from the storm. She sized him up, noted that in a sea of Washington, D.C. three-piece-suiters he was wearing sneakers, and quipped “What part of California are you from?” And that is how I met the future Chicken Emperor and love of my life.

The wedding flowers were so beautiful!

Any time I spend with Rosanne and Keevan is treasured time, and whether it has been six months or six years between visits, we all pick up exactly where we left off.  And being with them at Jaina and Costa’s wedding was, well, icing on the cake. Such a special time with such very special people at a very special wedding. Mazel tov!

The cake!

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in All Things Family, Animal/Vegetable/Mineral, Gastronomy, Spoiled Pets and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Matzoh and Moussaka: a recipe for love

  1. CE says:

    I don’t know what is going on here, but I appear to have beaten dear Catherine to a posting. On the other hand, there is no guarantee that she is not typing furiouslyt this very minute so I must hurry to finish.

    It was indeed a pleasure to be invited to this wonderful wedding. The bride was lovely, the groom handsome and radiant (yes, guys can radiate also), and the bride’s sisters added their own beauty and charm to the affair. But my favorite images were of the father of the bride searching his wallet for yet another withdrawal and of the bride’s mother straightening her daughter’s tiara. It is possible that neither of these things actually happened, but it they didn’t, they should have.

    In any case, such a pleasure to be with Marilyn and her best friends of old on such a happy occasion in the wonderful city of Chicago.

  2. Rosanne says:

    Sorry to disappoint, but I’m at a loss for something witty to say! This is so nice!! I didn’t remember that it was raining or the sneakers. What a great blog you have!

  3. Katherine says:

    Note to CE: unfair competition as you are on Chicago time so you got in a 2 hour head-start. Consider my competitive blood stirring and ready to be unleashed next weekend at the poker table.

    If anything must grace the Chicken Blog other than our fine feathered friends, I’m thrilled to see happy, smiling friends and family enjoying such a joyous occasion. Mazel Tov is right! Also: Συγχαρητήρια για τον γάμο σας *

    * editor’s note: I’m pretty sure she googled Greek for “congratulations on your wedding.”

    Marilyn and the CE look great in these photos – I suspect you’d still catch each other’s eye in any pub (or chicken coop for that matter.)

  4. Ang says:

    romance is not dead!

Leave a Reply

