There’s really only one way to skin a cat.

Talk about a bad hair day!

Poor Cody. The guy spends most of his life hauling around a fur coat that looks like a Lady Gaga wardrobe malfunction.

"Please, must we show my vulnerable underbelly?"

The venerable Codester, aka Shoo Shoo, Shoo Bear, Shoo Shooie (you get the idea) is “special” to us in so many ways. Back in the day, I was collecting Himalayans like potato chips, and I spied him in the household of a breeder who said she had no current kitten availability.

“What about him?”, I asked.

“Uh, well, he’s from our last litter. We decided to keep him.”

This, I later came to understand, is code for “he’s not operating with a full set of whiskers”. Cross-eyed and prone to miss a beat here, there and everywhere, Cody is, well, as I said before, special. We adore him, of course, and his many abilities, first and foremost of which is his willingness to be worn as a stole.

"Must we? Again?"

Cody’s fur has continued to grow, and grow, and grow. To the point where he has developed an asthmatic reaction – to himself. The CE works hard to keep the burrs and mats at bay, but with all the traveling we’ve been doing of late, the poor Shoo Bear’s crowning glory has become a dreadlocked mess.

No combover needed here.

So, this week, Cody took a trip to the vet, where they threw up their hands and brushes and said this was a situation out of control. Cody would have to be anesthetized and shaved.

"This is not looking good"

As it turns out, a feline shave and a haircut costs considerably more than two bits these days. Half a day and $400 later, this is what came home:

"Oh, the shame..."

"...and humiliation!"

Photos don’t really do it justice, I’m afraid. Almost all activity has ceased here other than staring at Cody for the last twenty-four hours. And that includes the other animals, who cannot leave him alone.

"Cody, we hardly know ye!"

Our sweet Cody went from a bad hair day to a no-hair day! They call it, as you may already suspect, the “Lion Cut”. It will grow out, Shoo Bear! And in the meantime, you can just be our little Lion King. Hear him roar!

"That's all I can take. I'm outta here!"

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in Oddities and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to There’s really only one way to skin a cat.

  1. Katherine says:

    I’m just lucky there was no one else in the house when I read this. Between the howls of laughter (“Lady Gaga wardrobe malfunction” – soooo funny) and the shrieks of horror (sorry but I was totally unprepared for the shaved-cat shot) I’m not sure what Dan would have thought was going on in the office.

    It may be time to reassess that age-old adage “who let the cat out of the bag” and fashion some sort of acceptable bag-attire for Cody. Who’s with me?!? I can, at least, say with all honesty that at this moment “the cat’s got my tongue.”

  2. jess says:

    I saw pics from Victoria and snarfed wine out of my nose. I am so inviting myself over to see this in person. When can I stop by? POOR SHOOEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    BTW Katherine is right, the Lady Gaga reference was comedic genius. Hilarious!! Lucky cats can’t read (especially Cody) or he’d be on a mission out of Hope Ranch I’m quite sure.

  3. CE says:

    This astonishing transformation really did require eye-witnessing to believe. Cody went from King of the Jungle to Dork of the Bendita literally overnight. Fortunately, the Codester is, for the most part, blissfully unaware of this (or anything else for that matter). So he continues to munch his crunchies, cadge an occasional can, sleep a bit and visit the sandbox pretty much as before. We all love this guy!

  4. polloamigo says:

    This is a cat??

  5. A says:

    Bawahahahhahahhaha. I love it! Summer wardrobe!!!! Now where is Tiny….

  6. Katherine says:

    I couldn’t help myself – I sent this entry to some friends. One wrote back: He should definitely be the next lead character in a pixar movie

Leave a Reply

