Sport of Champions: Chicken Racing

Today we have an exclusive Polloplayer scoop: meet Kerry, 4-time Canadian chicken-racing laureate!

That's Kerry, chicken-racer extraordinaire, on the left. I'll definitely be trying to get an interview with the fellow on the right, as well. Photo credit: LittleChickenRacingTeam

Kerry and I go way back. To about a year ago when I pulled a photo of his chicken chariot off the web and used it without his permission. He caught up with me recently and said “Hey, what’s with that?” And I said, “Oops”, and then I thought, “Whoa – how many chances will Polloplayer have to interview a real, live, in-the-flesh Chicken Charioteer? 

The rest is history. While all of you have no doubt packed away your Christmas decorations and launched purposefully into 2011, I’ve been pestering Kerry for information about his sport and for details about the amazing Lucky, who has propelled him into the annals of chicken-racing fame.

In the foreground, winner and champion Lucky! Photo credit: LittleChickenRacingTeam

Kerry is from Ontario, Canada, where by day he owns a locksmith/security firm and by weekend, becomes a chicken-racing superhero.  Kerry explains: “I raise exotic show chickens as a hobby & was at PoultryFest one year where I saw the chariot races & looked over at my sweetheart & said “my chicken Lucky runs faster than those birds”.

He entered the following year and won the event.

Here's Lucky, resting on her laurels. Photo credit: LittleChickenRacingTeam

Kerry, who  keeps exotic breed chickens and sells more than four hundred baby chicks in a season, has a tried-and-true formula for his repeated success in the chariot: “My hen Lucky was trained using sunflower seeds & grapes. Started off just getting her to run to me for a treat. Then got her to run down a home made track. Then attached the chariot to her.  I will have a bucket of KFC for dinner the night before a big race & explain to Lucky that this could be her fate if she doesn’t do well. ”

Clearly this served as inspiration to Lucky, as evidenced by the following video. Be patient – Lucky’s moment comes at about the three-minute-mark of the film:

Just in case you’re worried that Lucky’s life is all chariot and no play, fear no more. Yes, there have been difficult moments, like the time a neighbor’s dog  attacked Lucky one week before the big race  She spent five touch-and-go days at the pet infirmary and happily made a full recovery. According to Kerry, “she is 12 yrs old and now lives in a dog crate in the hallway of my home. She visits with the other birds outside during the warmer weather, but spends the cold Canadian winters listening to smooth jazz on the radio & enjoying the warm indoors where she is spoiled rotten like anyone else’s pet.” 

Funny, I don’t know anyone else who spoils their pets…

Nope, nobody spoiled here...pass the turkey, please!

Kerry is not one to let the chicken poo grow beneath his feet. In addition to chicken chariot-racing, he has taught another of his chickens, “Miss Ohio”, to fly a kite. Miss Ohio, who hails from Cleveland, is now the mascot of the Toronto Kite Fliers Club.

Miss Ohio, with kite aloft. Photo credit: LittleChickenRacingTeam

Kerry has been featured on television, magazines and newspapers but he saved his first blog interview for Polloplayer. By summer, he expects to have his web domain up and running at www.littlechickenracingteam.com. We wish him the best of luck with his fleet-footed feathery friends.

They know who was naughty and nice! Photo credit: LittleChickenRacingTeam

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in All Things Poultry and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sport of Champions: Chicken Racing

  1. Katherine says:

    …………..
    (I am officially at a loss for words.)

  2. pollo amigo says:

    What about “Miss Indiana?”
    Personally, I think Lucky should be very afraid. I’ve seen Autumn sprint into the breezeway, slide out in a puddle, right herself then caroom down the hallway.

  3. LittleChickenRacingTeam says:

    This by far was the most fun interview I have ever had the pleasure of doing. I think you may be the next Barbara Walters.

    PolloPlayer….. May you and your family & friends all have an Egg-cellent 2011.

  4. polloplayer says:

    As the reigning Emperor of many, if not all, chickens I hereby order “Lucky” to be delivered forthwith to the royal castle where I shall have her knighted and pensioned for life due to her many amazing accomplishments on the track. I do wonder though whether she trains distance or sprint. I suspect the latter as it is more practical in the handling of predator assaults. Go Lucky, Go!!!!!!

    • polloplayer says:

      Full disclosure: This comment was from the CE, not me. He was slumming on my computer and posted the comment under my name. I would claim identity theft except that he writes pretty well…

  5. citymama says:

    Tiny needs to step up his game!!! The farthest we have gotten as far as talent is clearing a room due to snoring and bad gas….

    TINY!?!?!??!?!?!?! Let’s get going!!!

Leave a Reply

