Surfacing, Gimpily.

If you’re wondering why the CE and I haven’t much poked our heads up to say hi since our return to Chickenland, it is due to technical difficulties. And not the kind that our computer guy can fix. I’m having my usual ho-hum issues with stairs, driving, etc which you’ve all heard about ad nauseum and ad infinitum (not that I will complain one iota less due to that, you understand). But now we have a NEW permutation on the Gimp Life, with the CE vying for first place in the sympathy stakes: you know how he’s been hobbling around for the past several months saying “Oh, it’s nothing” ?

Well, it’s not nothing. It’s something. A mouthful of something. Waiting on the MRI to confirm the diagnosis but he apparently has a rupture of the posterior tibialis tendon. And, according to the latest doc he’s seen, he needs to have surgery ASAP.

drawing from http://www.aafp.org from an article entitled "Commonly Missed Orthopedic Problems"

As you can imagine, this is putting a crimp in everyone’s style. All volunteer dog-walkers, for instance, are invited to report front and center, as poor Chloe and Soho now have TWO useless masters.

The CE's mood-o-meter is at this level

All that said, we did have an exceptional time back in NYC – the pix will be up soon, I promise!

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in Annoyances of Life, Pain and Misery and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Surfacing, Gimpily.

  1. Katherine says:

    This is not good. I thought the CE was invincible. I’m so sorry to hear about this. I have nothing amusing to say in the face of this. I shall report for Chloho duty. xxoo

  2. El Grande Emperor de Pollo las Gimpas says:

    Recent reports of my infirmities are baseless and unfounded. Why just this morning, before breakfast, I cracked off 8 miles at a 6:30 pace. Of course, with my car, this does not get you out of 2nd gear. The car was needed because this “boot” I am supposed to wear makes my right leg 3″ longer than the left. So in just 3 days of hobbling around the house (and once around the loop here at home) I have a knee injury that will help support the Porsche payments of the ankle Doc’s knee surgeon buddy.

    I do look forward to the MRI report which I believe will confirm that, miraculously, my ankle has somehow evolved into a bionic machine that gives new hopes to reviving my high-jumping career. If that does not prove to be the case, I know who to call at the Free Wheelchair Mission. I will be selecting the black model with 350 hp, a sleek windscreen, a cup holder and two sidecars (hello Chloe and Soho!)

  3. Ang says:

    Can you please get me that mood-o-meter for my birthday? i think it would be most helpful for my husb,
    sorry about your foot, CE. that is NOT fun….ugh.

Leave a Reply

