No Spring Chicken.

There are women who age beautifully and actually look quite lovely with grey hair and wrinkles. Unfortunately, I am not one of them. I thank my lucky stars every day for my husband’s considerable visual impairments.  You can only begin to imagine the trepidation with which I faced my birthday. The older I get, the more it starts to read like an annual natural disaster in my book, one for which there is no adequate emergency preparedness kit.

Surprise ladies luncheon

What I most definitely was not prepared for was the possibility that a birthday with so many large numbers in it could actually be enjoyed. But one dinner, two lunches and numerous cards, bouquets, gifts and well-wishes later, I have to say that while I may indeed be getting older, the celebrations are getting better.

Pamela and Alexandra came over to visit the zoo after lunch

I don't care how old you are as long as you hand out the scratch

Victoria and Julia consoled me on the big day

Julia brought treats for the dogs, too.

And Chadd dropped by with cupcakes!

Thanks to all! Oh, and I almost forgot – one of my best gifts was Domination of the Remote for forty-eight hours! Served up on a silver platter!

Bow to the queen!

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in Big Fun, Friends and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to No Spring Chicken.

  1. citymama says:

    Grow old gracefully, BAH HUMBUG. I think not! xo

  2. Cicken Emperor says:

    The birthday celebration has been a week long rolling party. Today we had a great lunch outside and there are still 3 unopened gifts in the bedroom, so who says birthdays cannot occupy whole seasons?

    Happy birthday from,

    The Duke’

  3. tina says:

    Looks like a wonderful birthday Marilyn! Love the remote on a platter – what an amazing gift!

Leave a Reply

