Mean Girls.

I know, it’s not the weekend yet, but Chicken Events occur in their own time. Yesterday we had an altercation, conflagration, confrontation: sisterly love went all sibling rivalry. I heard the racket and went to investigate. Autumn was sitting pretty in the “preferred” nesting spot and Amelia had flown up and was loudly complaining. Bawk bawk BAWK bawk bawk bawk bawk!! My guess was that Autumn had exceeded the parking limit in the nest, so I reached under her and removed her egg.

"She's hogging the nest!"

Unfazed, Autumn shifted her weight and used her beak to roll a golf ball into the spot where her egg had been. As you can imagine, Amelia called fowl, and looked at me as if to say “MOM! DO SOMETHING!” So, again,  I reached beneath Autumn and removed the golf ball. But Autumn was in a feisty mood and made it clear she wasn’t going anywhere. She just settled deeper into the nest, giving Amelia fits.

"FINE, then, I'll take care of it myself."

Either on principle, or because she really needed to unburden herself of an egg, Amelia wasn’t taking no for an answer. She pushed and shoved her way into the nesting spot next to Autumn.

"I have a big fluffy behind and I know how to use it!"

Twenty minutes later, both ladies were still holding their ground.

"I saw you blink!"

At least Hope decided to be reasonable.

Gridlock!

Amelia finally laid her egg in that scrunched-up space and Autumn didn’t move until she was good and ready.

Autumn, the winner and champ-eeee-on!

Today, peace was apparently restored and all was forgiven.

"Hey, it was no biggie."

"But if Autumn knows what's good for her, she'll watch her back..."

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in Absurdity, All Things Poultry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mean Girls.

  1. wingclipped says:

    I really enjoyed this post! My chickens also like to compete for space in the nesting box. I tried to overcome this yesterday but chickens know best:

    http://wingclipped.wordpress.com/2010/05/21/the-bar-2/

  2. Katherine says:

    That was one heck of a sit-down strike! I love it. What does it say about me that I far out-weigh Amelia but would have instantly moved at first “bawk.” Perhaps Autumn knows that Amelia’s bawk is worse than her bite.

  3. A says:

    ah, yes sisters will be sisters.

  4. Duke-ahontus says:

    This explains why we received today, via registered mail, a letter from Amelia’s attorney. It seems she is seeking damages for pain and suffering and has named all of us in her filings with the court. Do not schedule any travel in the near future as we must “lawyer up” to defend ourselves agains these neglect charges.

  5. jess says:

    Way to go, Autumn! Glad to see she’s not afraid to ruffle some feathers.

Leave a Reply

