Blog, blog, blog…

Many thanks to all of you who have phoned, emailed, weighed in and commented  in support of the blog. Much appreciated. I’ve given more thought to this in the past few days than it probably deserves. I’ve been feeling a definite “dropped by the network” bond with Conan – maybe we can team up!

After all, he does look a bit like a chicken...

I’ve had the luxury of living a fairly sheltered life. Maybe that’s why I don’t really share the fear that there’s a bogeyman in the shadows waiting to pounce. In my experience, the blindsiding generally comes from much closer to home. For the record, I have never used last names or addresses.  My humble opinion is that you are safer on this blog  than on Facebook, where millions of people make it surprisingly easy to connect the dots.

Privacy violation? Try sharing a litter box!

However, I need to respect the concerns of others. For the few of you who have raised concern to me or through someone else, I will do my best to minimize or eliminate future reference to you on the blog. I believe I can also delete specific photos and posts, so let me know if you would like me to do that.

As of today, the blog moves to a weekend format

There are (as amazing as that may seem!) a few people who really count on the blog, which makes me reluctant to shut it down completely. Therefore, my proposed compromise is to shift the blog to a “weekend edition” in hopes that condensing a week’s worth of events and trivia will dilute exposure but still provide an opportunity for those who would like to be updated on the general goings-on around here.

Thanks to all for your interest in the blog. Selfishly, I’m disappointed to “clip its wings”. Since I experience a considerable amount of physical pain on a daily basis and my lifestyle is thus limited, the blog has been a great exercise in cheerfulness for me – taking the time and effort to find something mildly amusing, something interesting, or something to be grateful for every day and then sharing it with you has been a lot of fun and very therapeutic for me. However, it’s not fair to do so at the expense of others, so, hopefully, “downsizing” the blog is a workable solution for everyone.

Un-named dog shepherds un-named chickens after the rain.

See you next weekend!

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in Annoyances of Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blog, blog, blog…

  1. Katherine says:

    So glad you’re not ditching us completely. Sad that I will have to make it thru the week on my own. Sigh. Well, one more reason to look forward to weekends.

    (The final photo caption made me howl with laughter. By the way, I’m sure someone can recognize the type of sod and the angle of the sun cast by the shadows, combined with the type of dog shampoo used, and STILL figure out when you’re out of town next and how to pick your lock and steal your chicken feed.)

  2. pollo amiga says:

    Glad you’re going to keep the blog going. I’ve admired your writing and photog skills, not to mentioned learned a lot about chickens. I’ll just have to keep the name of the dogs and other creatures straight on my own, I guess. Or drop in for face-to-face visits more frequently.

  3. Duke says:

    I share Katherine’s view that the security issue is really a red chicken xxxxxxx herring. And besides, if anyone plans to commit a crime based on information posted on this blog, they must really need the eggs badly. And for goodness sakes, the cats can be rented out at affordable rates already. (You can have Rosie.)

    In any case, I am happy the blog survives, although in a truncated edition. I will use all of my powers as Emperor to try to increase the frequency of her postings, as I really believe this to be a small ray of sunshine into a number of our lives. Long Live PolloPlayer!!

  4. jess says:

    wow, it’s funny but i had never thought of the pr!vacy issues you brought up but i guess it makes sense (although i am a facebook junkie so am guilty of much worse). regardless i am very excited the blog will be staying around at least in a weekend format. it will be tough to not check it every day as you are one of the first bookmarks i check when i wake up (or, when i can’t sleep at night!) hope to see you soon.

  5. nikkidog says:

    Thank you for agreeing to continue polloplayer.I love your writing style . I shall miss my daily visits to your website……..but my wekends are about to become more enjoyable!! Keep up the good work.

  6. Jean Gutsche says:

    message decoded via secret encrypted cipher from an unnamed, unknown address somewhere in the continental United States:

    So glad the blog continues…wish we could negotiate you up to say four days.

    Seriously, I am stupidly naive about security issues but I love your writing!

  7. ANG says:

    ONLY ON THE WEEKENDS??????????????????
    Security- oh peeshaw. You are too talented to only do it once a week.
    Pretty please?
    With a chicken on top?
    XO

  8. Lori says:

    You are extremely talented and SMART!!

  9. tdevir says:

    I miss you already and it’s only Sunday….. 😦

  10. Katherine says:

    This is not working for me. I keep hitting my “chick” bookmark hoping to see a new posting. I suppose that doesn’t make me very bright. But, as we’ve stated before, HOPE springs eternal. Here’s HOPE-ing we’ll see another posting before AUTUMN. (I’ve got nothing with “Amelia”….) Oh, wait, I lied: Perhaps you could AMELIA-rate the problem by going back to posting every day. (I know – misspelled ameliorate but it was the best I could come up with.)

  11. Katherine says:

    Somewhere in the world it’s the weekend, right?…

  12. tina says:

    Only one more day until a new post!! I can’t wait!!
    But I may have to just read a little bit of it each day to make it last a full week…. hope you write a ton!!

Leave a Reply

