Brooding.

What do chickens do in the rain? Mostly, they whine and carry on, stewing (hmm, interesting choice of verb…) in their pen for the past four soggy days. Autumn, however, distinguishes herself from the flock yet again. I’ve had my suspicions about her, noting that she spends long periods of time on the nest, but this morning I saw proof that Autumn is trying to go broody. (See this post if you don’t remember what that means: https://polloplayer.wordpress.com/2009/06/16/what-broody-means-in-chickenspeak/)

Autumn spies her "egg"

While cleaning the coop this morning, I saw Autumn using her beak to roll one of the golf ball “eggs” in the nest toward her.

She rolls it beneath her

Not only is Autumn the most personable girl in the flock, she’s also trying to win the “best mom” contest.

...and settles in to "hatch" the "egg"

Sweet girl – I hate to “break” her broodiness but it’s stressful for a hen to “set”  and with no fertile eggs, it’s the ultimate exercise in futility. Hopefully, removing the “egg” will take care of the problem for now.

Doing a bit of brooding myself on this rainy day. We had guests for dinner last night (Victoria made a divine Coq Au Vin!) and someone turned the conversation to the blog. All around the table, everyone had strong comments about the blog  – and none of them were positive. From privacy concerns to criticism of my photo editing techniques (I do apologize!) it seems that the main purpose of the blog – to entertain and inform – is akin to Autumn trying to hatch a golf ball “egg”.

Because the blog has become a hybrid of poultry patter and personal updates, the question is which – if any – audience it should serve. Most days there are around 50 views; sometimes it spikes to well over 300.  The personalized posts have been great fun for me since I tend to be lazy about correspondence, and, well, how much can you really say about chickens?

Which road to take?

However, it appears that the blog has come to a crossroads: take it private, keep it strictly fowl in nature, or shut it down. I’ll be deciding over the next few days what to do, but am currently leaning toward closing it down. I guess I’ll just have to get better at phone calls and emails in 2010…

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in All Things Poultry, Annoyances of Life, Chicken Facts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Brooding.

  1. Chicken Emperor says:

    What! There can be no talk of shutting down PolloPlayer without consulting all of the constituents. Consequently, I have polled the pollos and the vote is 4-0 in favor of continuing (Lily’s vote delivered via angel). And as Emperor I am exercising my right to cast 400,000 votes; all in favor of continuing. So there you have it; the election has been held and it is 400,004-0 in favor of continuing. So PLEASE keep PP on the air!!

  2. Katherine Gunther says:

    WHAAATTTTT? But the blog is one of my favorite parts of the day!!!! I’m so confused! Did Autumn feel the sequence of her futile brooding was too personal?

  3. tina says:

    300 people read your blog???

  4. pollo amiga says:

    I agree with Katherine. Shutting it down?? Where else shall we go for insightful, informative, well written and entertaining writing about many subjects — chickens, kitttens and dogs not the least of those subjects.

  5. jess says:

    i will really miss your blog if you shut it down. 😦 i understand the issues though, but in my opinion the pros way outweigh the cons….at least for me. polloplayer fans of the world, unite!

  6. Fred says:

    Please do not shut it down. It’s well written and nice to be part of your family, as well as your chickens.

  7. Hope says:

    SQUACK!!! If you close down the blog I will stop laying eggs.

  8. Autumn says:

    I beg your pardon, why would you not want the world to see my beautiful plumage?

  9. Amelia says:

    And they call us bird-brained… don’t listen to those dinner guests. It was the Coq Au Vin (I know what that means you know) that poisoned their minds.

  10. Audrie says:

    I know this is 3 years after you originally posted, but I just found your blog today (accidentally, as I’m obsessed with getting chickens) and I’ve quite honestly gotten NOTHING done for the last 2 hours, reading through it. Unlike many other bloggers, you are an engaging writer and I was so sad when I looked for more information about your Autumn and read about her final days. I feel a little voyeuristic reading all of your personal stories, but you really have a warm writing style. I’m so glad that you didn’t choose to shut down your blog. I’m also a Christian, and I live in Southern California, so I’ve no doubt we’re kindred spirits on some level!

    • polloplayer says:

      Hi Audrie,
      Thank you much for your kind words and I am so glad you are enjoying Polloplayer. We still miss Autumn; she was such a sweet hen. The chicks I got from MPC have been much healthier than my original flock so you might consider that when you are ready to get your chicks. Happy to answer any questions about small-flock keeping.

Leave a Reply

