It’s my blog and I’ll whine if I want to

It was bound to happen. If I try to conduct my life like a normal person, i.e. one whose spine and sacrum does not rotate with every bend or flex, I get in trouble. And the Christmas season has trouble written all over it for me. The simplest things – writing cards, carrying or wrapping packages, wearing non-sneaker shoes to a party (if only it was fashionable to wear Ugg slippers to holiday soirees!) are all treacherous for me, and I have hit the wall.

The sacrum can rotate any number of creative ways - all of them painful!

Not to mention that I’m getting sick. This morning my voice sounds a lot like Gollum. And since I’m averaging about four hours sleep a night this week, I kind of look like him, too.

More than a passing resemblance?

It was probably the cookie-baking that put things over the edge. Of all the things I can’t do because of my whacked-out spinal instability, cooking is right up there at the top of the list (along with playing the piano and wearing heels…) But I decided that with Victoria’s help, maybe I could make some Christmas cookies and live to tell about it.

Baking elves!

So I researched a few (easy) recipes and Victoria, her friend Alex, Taylor and I spun a few Christmas carols and got to work. We made those “Magic Bars” with the graham cracker crust, chocolate chips, coconut and a vat of sweetened condensed milk, which I highly recommend if you’re looking to pack on ten pounds in a week. We also made some shortbread dough, some Swedish “dream” cookies – very light and delicate. The easiest and fastest of all the recipes were the peanut butter cookies with Hershey kisses. Here’s the recipe:

Hersheys Kisses Peanut Butter Blossoms

48 Hersheys Kisses

1/2 cup butter

3/4 cup creamy peanut butter

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1/3 cup packed light brown sugar

1 egg (preferably from Amelia, Hope or Autumn:-)

2 T milk

1 t vanilla extract

1 & 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 t baking soda

1/2 t salt

granulated sugar

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Remove wrappers from chocolates

Beat butter and peanut butter in a large bowl. Add egg, milk and vanilla. Beat well.

Stir together flour, baking soda and salt; gradually beat into mixture.

Shape dough into 1-inch balls. Roll in sugar. Place on ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake 8-10 minutes or until lightly browned. Immediately press a Hersheys Kiss into the center of each cookie.

Remove from cookie sheet to wire rack. Cool completely.

Makes 3 to 4 dozen cookies.

Alex and Victoria

Peanut butter + chocolate = yummy!

Truth be told, the back pain trade-off is totally worth it – there’s nothing like the smell of home-baked cookies in the oven!

Dizzy helped, too!

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in Annoyances of Life, Gastronomy, Pain and Misery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s my blog and I’ll whine if I want to

  1. Katherine Gunther says:

    Yikes. This is not at all the way to wind-up the year. All you can do is drink more egg-nog (that’s really what the chickens are for, isn’t it?)

  2. Le Emperor de' Pollo says:

    The bloggist must press on! Do not give in to the pain that only seeks to separate you from your keyboard. Your loyal followers (CE included) look forward to your clever musings. Besides, your chickens will not remain long in the public eye without your constant flow of PR; and they do deserve their fame, what with all of the laying that is going on around here.

  3. bernadette Pometta says:

    Looks like Dizzie’s channeling the chicken trance in hopes of laying the egg of all eggs!

Leave a Reply

