What Chickens Do Best.

First day back in the coop it seemed the chicken chores were taking longer. At first I thought I was just out of coop-cleaning practice after a week away from the girls, but by yesterday I realized the change was not just perceptual, but quantifiable: there is a LOT more chicken poo than there was a few weeks ago.

Christmas has arrived in the chicken yard

Yes, perhaps they are still growing, at least in Amelia’s case I know that’s true. Brahmas are among the slowest-maturing breeds of chickens. What’s really going on, though, I think, is that the drop in temperature – the nights are now in the low 40’s – is causing them to eat more, and, therefore to produce more, um, fertilizer.

A few more chicken yard changes this week: I wanted to soften the contrast between the wall and the fountain, and the CE nixed my idea of a “plant wall”, saying it was too complicated. I think these espalliered camellias are a good substitute:

We were going to plant them in the ground, but I like the height so I think we'll just find pots for them.

And Chris has started building the bench around the tree:

The CE has installed some nice lighting, too, so when summer comes around again, it will be a nice place to be in the evenings.

And – BREAKING NEWS: I just went out to the coop and saw Lily laying in Hope’s nesting spot! Could it be that we’ll get our first Lily egg today?????!!!!

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in All Things Poultry, Holidays and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Chickens Do Best.

  1. Katherine Gunther says:

    I just want to know if the chickens will have stockings hanging on the mantle for Santa.

Leave a Reply

