Eggo-centric

Pollo Amiga stopped by yesterday to see the new egg, which I had, unfortunately, given away. She visited for a bit, and when she left I went into the coop to clean up – there was another egg! right next to the first one I’d found!! It was buried beneath pine shavings so now I’m wondering if it was actually Hope’s first egg. Polla Amiga – if you come back, it’s yours!

Pamela and Soho relax on the new deck

This morning the CE and I were surveying the chicken kingdom improvements and wondering aloud if Hope might lay again today. “No way”, I said. “Not possible”. I stepped into the coop and there was another egg!!!!! It borders on the miraculous – perfect eggs just appear out of nowhere like magical little gifts! As you can see from this picture, the eggs are getting progressively bigger:

Today's egg is on the right

While Hope is busy laying, Amelia is vying for first place in the pecking order. She challenges the other hens frequently. Her thought seems to be “if I have to be shaped like a bowling ball I may as well get some benefit from it”. It was nice to see Autumn stand her ground with Amelia yesterday.

"You're not the boss of me!"

In other breaking news, Chloe had a bath:

94 lbs. of clean!

I know there’s a world beyond the minutiae of our chicken-and-egg-life and am both grateful and amazed for those of you who humor me by reading the blog. I am thankful for you all!

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in All Things Poultry, Spoiled Pets and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Eggo-centric

  1. tdevir says:

    What did you do with the first egg??? Are you going eat one?

  2. pollo amiga says:

    That is one contented canine. What a sweetie.

  3. pollo amiga says:

    How many total eggs to date? Two or three?

  4. Disgruntled Emperor says:

    What!! Months of backbreaking labor and pollo amiga gets the egg? Where is the justice?

  5. alexandra says:

    That’s such a cute pic of my mom and soho!

Leave a Reply

