Readers Know Best.

I take back every mean thing I said yesterday about crows. Watch this video that Katherine recommended – a true story about a crow that “adopted” a kitten:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-fAGzY9rnaA&feature=related

Unbelievable!

More information about the unusual crow/kitten bond can be found at http://www.earthlings.org/kin/kinship.html, with commentary by Dr. Bernd Heinrich, whose book, Mind of the Raven, both Katherine and Jessica recommended.

mindoftheraven2

"Mind of the Raven" - up close and personal with crows

Not only do my readers know more than I do – apparently crows can outsmart me, too!

I can be cheerful about this because I slept through the night last night. Yay! This more or less guarantees that I’ll be up at 2 am tonight if anyone needs to get in touch…

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in Animal/Vegetable/Mineral, Oddities and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Readers Know Best.

  1. jess says:

    It really is a good book…not to be nitpicky, but crows are very different from ravens. Both fascinating though. The only time I’m 100% sure i’ve been in the presence of a raven is in Yosemite. It’s usually their beaks that give them away, for me at least. I’m sure I’ve seen them other times but only got into birds within the last few years and never paid it much attention.

    Anyhow the black birds, great and small, forgive you I’m sure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

