“Take…da da da da…these broken wings”…

…”And let me fly away”…I have that Mr. Mister song jangling my brain this morning and now so do you.  Remember that one? It’s about to be the theme song for my girls – I wonder if they can sing harmony.

mister

Who remembers Mr. Mister?

My chickens have found their wings and thus, are about to lose them.  Amelia and Hope are so large that it may not become an issue, but Autumn, the smallest of the four, has become what you might term a “flight risk”.  She has twice now flapped from the ground up to the top of gate in the chicken yard – almost five feet in a single bound. I never realized chickens could fly that high.

fly

They really can fly! (photo from http://www.nakedscientists.com)

So my next chicken project is going to be wing-clipping. I’ve been doing this for years with Birdie, our cockatiel, who squawks like a wounded eagle every time he sees the scissors. I have to say I’m not looking forward to trying out my amateur skills on a three-pound chicken.  Here is a diagram I found as a guide:

wingclipping

Wing-clipping 101 (from http://www.backyardchickens.com)

See how easy it looks:

GB-wingclip2

I'm sure Autumn will just sit there all peaceful-like, right?

I’m still down in Westlake Village, so I have miles to go before I clip, but I’m going to try to work up the courage to do it soon, as I don’t want to be the one roaming the neighborhood asking if anyone has seen my chicken. They lock people up for less than that, and probably not in places as nice as my chicken coop.

Wish me luck, and oh, here’s a link to a Mr. Mister music video of “Take These Broken Wings”. Sing along and think of Autumn…   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aWyeVfuolT4

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in All Things Poultry, Chicken Facts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Take…da da da da…these broken wings”…

  1. Katherine Gunther says:

    Are you kidding? Where are those chickens going to go that’s better than Casa G?

  2. The Duke says:

    I think with the proper Sinatra tune that Hope might just get up and Fly Away With Me……..

Leave a Reply

