True Love.

You know how the world is made up of two different kinds of people? There are those who like the windows open (the CE) ; those who run around closing them (that would be Moi); those who are always planning the next trip (ahem, me, me, me!) and those who are tried-and-true homebodies (again, the CE), and those who are up at the crack of dawn (the CE) and those of us who are pretty sure nothing important happens before noon – me, guilty as charged.

The early bird may get the worm, but hey, it's still a WORM!

The early bird may get the worm, but hey, it's still a WORM!

The truly interesting thing about this is that so very often, this more or less 50/50 division among the population of the planet manages to manifest itself within the microcosm of a marriage. Cat lovers marry dog lovers. Clean freaks marry clutter freaks. Hoarders marry purgers. Are we all in subconscious search of marital misery?

The CE and I are now twenty-nine years-plus into total commitment – until about 8 pm each evening, when all-out-war generally ensues over the television remote. Or until an important piece of mail disappears and the inevitable accusations arise: did he thoughtlessly throw it out or did I inadvertently misplace it? The world may be divided into two types of folks, but in our marriage there is one thing we agree on: we are both pretty sure we’re always right.

It keeps things interesting. And it also gives us a more or less continual opportunity to prove our love for the other despite our differences.  For instance, this photo may not mean much to you, but it has true love written all over it for me:

IMG_3765

You see, up until this morning, this board was eight inches longer. It serves as a bridge passage for the chickens between two counter tops inside the coop. It became quickly apparent to me that the board could be shortened so it didn’t impinge so much on the chickens’ space and so it would be easier for me to manage. Because of back problems, I have to rely on the CE for this and so many other chores, and I’ve asked, reminded, even nagged a bit about this one.

nagging

Yet this morning, out of nowhere, the CE not only noted my request but acknowledged that I’d been waiting a long time for him to comply. He dropped all the important work of the day – you can only imagine how busy an Emperor can be – and set off in search of a saw.  The chickens thank him and I thank him. It reminds me that love is everywhere; you just need to know where to look. (And, dear, if you’re reading, I promise – the remote is all yours tonight.)

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in All Things Family, All Things Poultry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to True Love.

  1. The Duke says:

    Life is good when you can be made happy by shortening a board. Do you have any others that need shortening?

  2. Katherine Gunther says:

    Lovely. Single people never understand when I say it’s not the grand romantic gestures, but the small romantic gestures that have real impact. Gotta love the CE (and his love for you.)

  3. tdevir says:

    love this post Marilyn. it really is the little things in life that make you happy.

    ps- as I write this Evelyn is watching The Wizard of Oz and screaming “oh no mommy! the monkeys are coming!” Brings back memories of when you & Dad used to take Angie & I to see this movie at the Arlington when we were little…. Those monkeys used to scare me so! xo

  4. bernadetta Pometta says:

    I do like you as a blonde but you could sure use some sun block! Single? gestures? what ever….Thanks Dan and Steve

Leave a Reply

