Saturday

I love weekends. One would think that for the unemployed, it’s all just a month of Sundays, but there is something special about Saturday mornings. For one thing, it’s a day to collect loose ends. I never updated you on the Blackberry-in-the-spa-soup episode, and am happy to say that the gentleman at Today’s Nails did, indeed, succeed in rescuing my beloved Bberry. It lives! Interestingly, I found this tutorial on the Internet that suggests using the hairdryer trick to clean the Blackberry trackball or “pearl”. The URL is a bit cumbersome but the advice is good: http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_PNY-JmhEiwI/Sfm2rOMYPjI/AAAAAAAAAPQ/75ayXAVhfws/s320/4.jpg&imgrefurl=http://basitj.blogspot.com/2009/04/give-your-blackberry-new-look-and-feel.html&usg=__N96-SblS84vvQQBncXsLjr-JI5E=&h=240&w=320&sz=10&hl=en&start=5&um=1&tbnid=tC4iXJIr4Inl0M:&tbnh=89&tbnw=118&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dblackberry%2Bhair%2Bdryer%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DN%26um%3D1

blackberry hairdryer

I know all you iPhone users out there are gloating since you’ll never need to know these tricks, but I remain thus far faithful to my beloved Blackberry.

Another loose end: we have not followed up on the who-I’d-like-to-invite-to-dinner fantasy. Apparently, my sister-in-law, Jean, and I are the only ones who like to play that game. Here are her picks:

“To start..(in no particular order) ..all the great Bible people including Esther, Ruth, Daniel, Moses, Joseph, Isaiah, Abraham………then Winston Churchill, Abraham Lincoln, Harriet Tubman, John Adams, John Quincy Adams.”

I am getting a great visual of Abraham Lincoln sitting at the table with Moses. The headgear options alone would be a reason to peek in on this group.

If you need a dessert idea for your fantasy – or real – dinner party, here, finally is Loose End #3, the Coconut flan recipe I promised you:

Marie Christine’s Coconut Flan

1/3 cup sugar

3 eggs

1 can (14 oz) sweetened condensed milk

1 1/2 cups coconut milk

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

1/4 cup coconut flakes

1/4 cup toasted coconut flakes for garnish

Preheat oven to 325 degrees

In a small saucepan, melt the sugar until it is caramelized, then pour it into a round dish (or individual ramekins).

In a small mixing bowl, beat eggs until foamy. Add the sweetened condensed milk, coconut milk, vanilla and the 1/4 cup flaked coconut.

Pour mixture into the prepared dish(es) and bake in a water bath, about 40 minutes or until flan is of desired texture.

The ladies are having a nice Saturday and clearing up their own loose ends, which consist of the last bundle of carrot tops from the Farmers Market. When I was cleaning the coop this morning, I turned around and all four of the girls were standing behind me, staring and clucking. I’ve had this feeling before at the nail salon – maybe you have, too – when the manicurists start speaking animatedly to one another in Vietnamese and casting glances your direction – you get the distinct feeling they are talking about you but you have no way of knowing for sure what they’re saying. I’ve asked them before to teach me a word or two of Vietnamese – it’s completely beyond me. These people can speak English AND Vietnamese, and repair highly complex electronics with hairdryers. Very humbling.

Anyway, this morning, I had the distinct impression that Amelia, Hope, Lily and Autumn were talking about me in Chickenese, another language I have no hope of learning. But I don’t think there’s any danger of them picking up English, or a hairdryer, so I’m hopeful of retaining the upper hand here. One new development is that Hope has started following me around. I’ve had a hard time getting a good picture of her lately because she’s shadowing me so closely. Maybe she has a secret to tell me. If only I could find the English-Chickenese dictionary…

Hope, 17 weeks

Hope, 17 weeks

Happy Saturday!

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in Absurdity, All Things Poultry, Annoyances of Life, Gastronomy and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saturday

  1. Katherine Gunther says:

    I believe she is saying “thank you for treating us so well. And for all the meal worms.”

    Either that or “spread the word: vegetarianism is the way to heaven.”

  2. Katherine Gunther says:

    By the way, I have been thinking about the dinner guest question. But then I was confused by the “are these people I’d like to chat with?” or an actual list of the perfect dinner party where everyone will get along nicely and have fun? So, in a happy-medium sort of way, I’ll go with:

    Dorothy Parker, Shakespeare, Confucius, Jesus, Martin Luther King Jr., Amelia Earhart, Eleanor Roosevelt, Charlie Chaplin

  3. Emperor de' Pollo says:

    The dinner list should certainly include the Three Stooges. Or perhaps just a single Stooge?…….

Leave a Reply

