“Cluck you”

Well, at least I think that’s what I heard the girls say when they heard what was on the menu last night. Bernadette was joining us for dinner, so Victoria made something special: roast chicken. When I texted Bernadette to tell her not to spread the info around the chicken yard when she arrived, she texted back: “Was it a close relative?”

Bernadette and Soho

Bernadette and Soho

Probably not, since the chickens we buy in the supermarket are generally Cornish X’s (Cornish Cross), a bird that was developed specifically to fit the needs commercial factory-raised poultry operations. This is the chicken that nearly led to the extinction of Lily’s breed, the Delaware chicken.

Lily at 17 weeks

Lily at 17 weeks

A Cornish X is less a chicken than an eating machine and a freak of fast-forward photography: Due to their rapid growth, they reach a market weight of five pounds (live weight) in six to seven weeks, which makes them the most efficient and economical meat chicken on the market.

Lily at 8 weeks, which is about the age of most chicken you buy in the grocery

Lily at 8 weeks, which is about the age of most chicken you buy in the grocery

Of course it makess more sense from a business model to process the birds at a younger age for a myriad of reasons, but I know I’ve read someplace that an older chickens taste better than younger ones. A poster on www.backyardchickens.com explains that “older birds have higher amino acid counts wich makes the meat more complex…. more nutrient dense… and because of this you get a higher quality of flavor.” The jury will have to remain out on that one, because no matter how much my girls swear at me, I have promised not to eat them.

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in All Things Poultry, Chicken Facts, Spoiled Pets and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Cluck you”

  1. Katherine Gunther says:

    It’s just getting harder and harder to eat chicken ever since you started this blog and I feel as though I know and love your chicks.

  2. pollo amiga says:

    After reading the latest issue of The New Yorker, I’d say you definitely have a soul mate in Susan Orlean. Have you lined up a hen vet yet?

  3. CE says:

    Lots of good new material on the site, but I particularly enjoyed the Taxman chicken angle and the coop clean out adventure. On the other hand, since I actually did that, I am not sure I learned anything new about what I did, since I actually did that and………It is very confusing and time to go to bed.

Leave a Reply

