Hither and thither.

Home from NYC, briefly. Leaving again tomorrow for LA, where daughter, Angela, is participating in her first triathlon. Have had nary a moment with the chickens, although when the CE and I greeted them yesterday morning after being away for a week, he thought they were saying hello to us. There was a distinct change to their inflection, almost a cooing sound. They like us! They really like us!

Autumn at 14 weeks

Autumn at 14 weeks

Amelia at 14 weeks

Amelia at 14 weeks

"Did you bring me anything? Don't they have mealworms in New Yorik?"

“Did you bring me anything? Don’t they have mealworms in New York?”

Lily is not pictured because she was standing behind me trying to untie the strings of the apron I wear when I’m cleaning out their coop in the morning. All four are doing great and enjoyed a nice breakfast of grass clippings this morning. Life is good!

Gotta run, but one last New York memory before I go. As we trudged around our new NYC neighborhood after going to the Yankees game on Labor Day, we came upon a tiny square of green. Lo and behold, it was Dante Park, so named for the author who has kept me in Purgatorio all summer. Here he is looking over my shoulder.

dante park

I finished the book on the plane! Yippee!

Thinking of all New Yorkers today. We will never forget.

About polloplayer

Empty nester searching for meaning of life through the occasional chicken epiphany.
This entry was posted in All Things Family, All Things Poultry, Dante/Divine Comedy, Music/Art/Literature/Culture, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hither and thither.

  1. Jean Gutsche says:

    I am not sure if you got my comment a while back…technology continues to baffle me! I tried the Parmesan/Blue Cheese Toasts and they were a big hit. Thanks for sharing that recipe! I still like Autumn the best and i can’t wait to hear about her first egg! GO ANGIE doing a triathalon. She really is a busy Mom!

  2. Katherine Gunther says:

    I made the cheese toasts as well! But they weren’t QUITE as good as the ones at your house. Must have been the good company.

  3. Lori says:

    Love your blouse 🙂 !!

Leave a Reply

